Winner of the 2011 Jennifer Burke Award – Michael Seery
Muiris O’Connor (HEA), Michael Seery (DIT), Sheila Porter (Intel), John O’Connor (DIT), Barry McMulllin (DCU)

On 21st April  2011 the five Jennifer Burke Award finalists were invited to showcase their innovations in the  Helix Gallery, DCU. The panel comprised: Muiris O’Connor (HEA); Sheila Porter (Intel); and John O’Connor (DIT) and Barry McMullin (DCU).

After much deliberation the panel decided to present the 2011  to Dr Micheal Seery (DIT).  The award was made to recognise Michael’s work in incorporating e-learning into his teaching, and specifically for developing online pre-lecture resources to support first year students’ learning – especially those coming to third level without prior knowledge of chemistry. The work was completed as part of a College of Sciences and Health Teaching Fellowship and is part of a larger body of work in supporting first year learners in the School of Chemical and Pharmaceutical Sciences being carried out by Michael and Dr Claire Mc Donnell of the Chemistry Education Research Team and Dr Roisin Donnelly of the DIT Learning Teaching and Technology Centre.

The award was  formally presented on 1st June at the EdTech 2011 Conference.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s